You were hit hard. You can hardly see straight through the pain you’re experiencing. Now, to make matters worse, you have a sneaking suspicion that the other driver’s insurance is not valid.
“Great,” you think. “Now I have to pay because they don’t have insurance.”
Take a deep breath. Before you write off the Maryland car accident as another lump you have to swallow, it’s time to make a quick phone call to the nearest police station. Driving without insurance in Maryland is no small offense and you should not be the one to pay for the other person’s decision to ignore the law.
Not only is it illegal for a driver to be uninsured in Maryland—It is also serious enough to be considered a jail-worthy offense. A person who is caught driving without insurance in this state could face:
- Up to one year in prison for a first offense (doubled for second offense)
- Up to a $1,000 fine for a first offense (doubled for second offense)
- Fees of up to $2,500 a year for the time the vehicle was uninsured
- Loss of license plates
- Temporary loss of the right to register a vehicle in Maryland
When another driver sees fit to ignore the law and then causes a car crash that leaves you injured, you have every right to be upset and every right to call the police.
In fact, it may be to your benefit. Without valid insurance information, a police report may be your best way of ensuring you have proper contact information for the person should you need to file a personal injury lawsuit following the accident.
When you’re ready to take action, call an experienced Maryland car accident lawyer at 800-875-9700.
Post a comment
Post a Comment to "Want to Go to Jail? Go Ahead and Drive Without Insurance in Maryland"To reply to this message, enter your reply in the box labeled "Message", hit "Post Message."