Hit by an uninsured motorist in Maryland? We’ve got your back.Let's say you did everything right. You put the cell phone down and focused on driving. You signaled your turns, stopped completely at stop signs, and drove defensively.
Regardless of your efforts, you ended up in a Maryland car accident.
It is very frustrating to be the victim of someone else's negligence. Their careless actions can lead to a period of fear and devastation in your life.
If the other driver was uninsured, it can add even more anxiety to an already stressful situation.
Maryland state law requires drivers to carry auto insurance. In fact, you can't register a vehicle in Maryland without proof of insurance.
The law does not always stop people from driving without valid insurance. The Insurance Research Council states that 12% of Maryland drivers are uninsured. Driving in D.C. is even worse, with only 21% insured.
Before you get too anxious, know that you can still receive compensation for your injuries and property damage - through your own insurance. Maryland requires drivers to carry uninsured motorist coverage for this very reason.
Uninsured motorist coverage allows you to get compensation if the person responsible for the accident:
- Has no insurance at all
- Doesn't have enough insurance to cover all your damages (under-insured)
- Hit you and left without giving insurance information
We know how frustrating it is to have to use your own insurance to cover injuries or vehicle damage caused by a driver who is uninsured.
To make matters worse, your uninsured motorist coverage may not cover the entire cost of the accident.
In standard policies, the most your uninsured motorist insurance will cover for personal injury is $20,000 per person or a maximum of $40,000 per accident. You can also get $15,000 for property damages.
Your uninsured motorist coverage is unlikely to cover the total cost of a serious Maryland auto accident. If you or a family member have been seriously injured in a Maryland car crash caused by an uninsured driver, you will be responsible to pay for whatever is left after your insurance has paid their maximum.
If your costs are exceeding your coverage, you may want to hire an experienced Maryland personal injury attorney to help you sue the driver at fault directly. If you have been hurt in an accident that was not your fault, you should not be the one paying.
Call the qualified Rockville injury lawyers of Nickelsporn & Lundin at 1-800-875-9700. We will go above and beyond to make sure that you get as much compensation as possible for your accident injuries.